Skip to content

Why this blog is called “Beautiful Dust”

Hi and welcome to Beautiful Dust, a blog that celebrates the dusty truth of life.

Several years ago, I was having one of those days. A bad hair day, a fat jeans day, a bad mom day, a frustrating work day, a day of feeling completely incapable and ugly at every turn. As I hit the bed exhausted and unsure if I could get up and repeat the whole process again, I came across a book of poetry that provided just the comfort I needed. One sentence jumped off the page.

“He knows how we are formed, He remembers that we are dust.”

The poetry is written by David in Psalm 103 in the Bible. What grabbed me was the word “dust”. I felt like dust at that moment. Small. Incapable. Weak. Dusty. I turned the pages back, all the way back, to Genesis.

God’s hands mixing earth and dust, love and freedom. God’s fingers molding, coaxing, creating. God’s heart desire taking form in his hands. God’s breath drawing in…..and then Life. Companionship. Beauty. When God breathed into the heart of humanity the dust became me, and you. (Genesis 2:7 NIV)

I laid there thinking: If God remembers that I am dust, than why am I working so hard to forget? My daily fight to be the picture perfect parent, spouse, ministry leader, and Christian woman was suffocating me! With every failure, more air left my self-inflated sense of self worth.

I suddenly felt better. Relief. I am dust. I am DUST! I don’t have to figure out how to be amazing in all my roles as a woman. My job is to let God breathe Himself into every part of my life. When a dusty life takes in the breath of God, it is poised for extraordinary purpose. That’s where I want to be.

I get really tired when I try to take on the world without the breath of God. I wonder if you do too? If so, I would love for you to join me for some dusty commentary on finding beauty and purpose in life.

Welcome to Beautiful Dust!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Eleanor #

    I needed this post this morning! Thank you Jennifer!

    February 5, 2013
  2. Thanks for sharing your heart.

    February 5, 2013

Leave a Reply

